Storm Corrosion, A Steven Wilson/Mikael Akerfeldt Collaboration, Expected Soon

Steve Wilson of Porcupine Tree, and Mikael Akerfeldt of Opeth are proud of Storm Corrosion

By , Columnist

When you pair two interesting musical personalities together, you often get memorable results.  While that may not always be the case with every collaboration, this particular one, which has been working together since 2010, seems headed toward legendary status.

Steven Wilson of Porcupine Tree, and Mikael Åkerfeldt of Opeth are the two main collaborators of Storm Corrosion, which is the name that the duo has chosen to represent their recorded works.  Both individuals not only have their fans, but the bands that they hail from have dedicated fans as well.

As is often the case with many individual performers from a band, side projects are for those who have a specific interest in a musical idea that doesn't quite fit their respective bands’ style.  Often, the union can result in popularity that challenges the performers’ original band.  While the jury is still out on the music that will be found on Storm Corrosion’s debut release, it certainly has the potential to be legendary.


On May 8, Roadrunner Records will unleash the collaborative set in several formats and styles that will have fans digging for change in their pockets, inside of couches, and in drawers to snag their copy of these unique combo sets.

In addition to the standard CD set, there will be an unheard of CD/BD Special Edition release with the Blu-ray disc containing high resolution 5.1 and Stereo versions, both in 96k/24-bit quality, of the songs found on the CD album. 

The album will also be released in a double LP set that will be pressed in 180g black virgin vinyl, and housed in a gatefold jacket.  Inside the LP set will be a 24” x 36” fold-out poster with exclusive artwork that will not be evident in other sets of the album.  Along with all of this, the album will include download rights to FLAC digital files.

If these packages are not enough, and you need more, Roadrunner plans to also issue an LP/CD/BD master pack bundle that will add in bonus music that include two exclusive demo tracks as well as five instrumental tracks.  And if you pre-order the bundle, you have the ability to download the digital files of the album a day ahead of the album’s intended release.

Åkerfeldt calls the music on Storm Corrosion, "...the most beautiful music I have participated in ever."  Well, Mikael, you certainly have our attention.


1. Drag Ropes (9:50)
2. Storm Corrosion (10:12)
3. Hag (6:24)
4. Happy (4:52)
5. Lock Howl (6:19)
6. Ljudet Innan (10:15) 



For more Storm Corrosion information, click though to their website.

Share this story About the author

Matt Rowe began his life with an AM radio, listening to anything that was considered music. Since, he has labored intently to build a collection of music, paring it down, rebuilding, and refining as he sees fit. His decided goal is to keep up with new music by panning for the nuggets among literal mountains…

View Profile
Visit Website

More from Matt
Related Tags

Connect With TMR

Recent Writers

View all writers »

January 2021
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30