The Smashing Pumpkins to Reissue Gish, Siamese Dream In Deluxe Editions

Gish, Siamese Dream receive new mastering and expanded bonus material in collectible boxes

By , Columnist

The Smashing Pumpkins, led by singer/songwriter/guitarist Billy Corgan, has its roots in Chicago, having formed as early as 1988.  It didn’t take long for the alternative music atmosphere of the ‘90s to realize how important The Smashing Pumpkins were to this new era of music.

While the band’s first album, Gish (1991) got off to a slow start, the band’s next, Siamese Dream (1993), rocketed to the top of the Billboard chart, popping in at #10, and earning the band a Grammy nomination for Best Alternative Music Album.  The ambitious Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness followed with two LPs of 28 songs.  It entered the charts at number one.  The history of The Smashing Pumpkins has been rocky, almost from the start.  But the music left behind documents of a very important band.

On November 29 (US), and December 5 (World), EMI Records will release the band’s first two albums in newly remastered (Bob Ludwig) form.  In addition to being remastered, Gish, and Siamese Dream, will be expanded with bonus material to flesh out the Deluxe Editions.  Both albums are planned for standard CD release, along with 2-CD/1-DVD Deluxe Editions, vinyl LP, and several Digital Download configurations.

The Deluxe Editions will be housed in specially designed lift-top boxes.  Each set will contain richly filled booklets with new liner notes and track-by-track commentary by Billy Corgan, along with a large selection of never before seen photos and artwork.  Included in the boxes will be postcards and other goodies.

The bonus CDs included in both sets will contain selections of rare, and previously unreleased material from the band.  The DVDs feature live sets from The Metro in Chicago, where owner, Joe Shanahan basically gave the band their live start.  Gish offers a 10-song live set from August 25, 1990, while Siamese Dream delivers a 17-song live set from August 14, 1993.  The Gish set will add in new Butch Vig mixes of the band’s Sub Pop singles, “Tristessa,” and “La Dolly Vita.”  The vinyl LPs have been mastered specifically for the vinyl format.

Gish (1991) Deluxe Edition Content


Disc 1:
1.    I am one
2.    Siva
3.    Rhinoceros
4.    Bury me
5.    Crush
6.    Suffer
7.    Snail
8.    Tristessa
9.    Window paine
10.   Daydream

Disc 2:  
1.    Starla (2011 mix)
2.    Siva (Peel session)*
3.    Honeyspider (Reel Time demos / 2011 mix)
4.    Hippy Trippy (Crush Music Box demo)
5.    Snail (live radio performance)
6.    Plume (2011 mix)
7.    Bury Me (Reel Time demos / 2011 mix)
8.    Daydream (Old House demo)
9.    Tristessa (Sub Pop single / 2011 mix)
10.   Girl Named Sandoz (Peel session)*
11.   Jesus Is The Sun (Apartment demo)
12.   Blue (Gish sessions demo)
13.   Smiley (Gish sessions demo)
14.   I Am One (Reel Time demos / 2011 mix)
15.   Seam (Suffer / Apartment demo)
16.   La Dolly Vita (2011 mix)
17.   Pulseczar (Gish sessions demo)*
18.   Drown (alternate guitar solo)
All songs previously unreleased except where indicated.*

Live at The Metro, Chicago, IL 8/25/90
Introduction (Joe Shanahan)
1.    I am one
2.    Snail
3.    Rhinoceros
4.    Bury Me
5.    Tristessa
6.    Window Paine
7.    Razor
8.    Sookie Sookie
9.    Godzilla 
10.  Crush - Acoustic


Siamese Dream (1993) Deluxe Edition Content


Disc 1:
1.    Cherub rock
2.    Quiet
3.    Today
4.    Hummer
5.    Rocket
6.    Disarm
7.    Soma
8.    Geek U.S.A
9.    Mayonaise
10.  Spaceboy
11.  Silverfuck
12.  Sweet sweet
13.  Luna

Disc 2: 
1.    Pissant (siamese sessions rough mix)
2.    Siamese dream (broadway rehearsals demo)
3.    STP (rehearsal demo)
4.    Frail and bedazzled (soundworks demo)
5.    Luna (apartment demo)
6.    Quiet (bbc session/bc mix)
7.    Moleasskiss (soundworks demo)
8.    Hello kitty kat (soundworks demo)
9.    Today (broadway rehearsal demo)
10.   Never let me down again (bbc session)*
11.   Apathy's last kiss (siamese sessions rough mix)
12.   Ache (silverfuck rehearsal demo)
13.   U.S.A. (soundworks demo)
14.   U.S.S.R. (soundworks demo)
15.   Spaceboy (acoustic mix)
16.   Rocket (rehearsal demo)
17.   Disarm (acoustic mix)
18.   Soma (instrumental mix)
All songs previously unreleased except where indicated.*

Live At The Metro, Chicago, 8/14/93
Introduction (Joe Shanahan)
1.    Rocket 
2.    Quiet
3.    Today 
4.    Rhinoceros
5.    Geek U.S.A.
6.    Soma
7.    I am one
8.    Disarm
9.    Spaceboy
10.   Starla
11.   Cherub rock
12.   Bury me
13.   Hummer
14.   Siva
15.   Mayonaise 
16.   Drown
17.   Silverfuck

Share this story About the author

Matt Rowe began his life with an AM radio, listening to anything that was considered music. Since, he has labored intently to build a collection of music, paring it down, rebuilding, and refining as he sees fit. His decided goal is to keep up with new music by panning for the nuggets among literal mountains…

View Profile
Visit Website

More from Matt
Related Tags

Connect With TMR

Recent Writers

View all writers »

August 2021
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31