The Mission Return with New Album, The Brightest Light

The Brightest Light is the famed band's thirteenth studio effort.

By , Columnist

In 1986, two important members of The Sisters of Mercy left to form a new band after a dispute involving the band's direction and songs already recorded for a new album. The Mission (The Mission UK for the US due to a naming clash with another band) became the creative output for Wayne Hussey (who had previously played guitar with Dead or Alive) and Craig Adams. The two joined with Simon Hinkler and Mick Brown to complete The Mission.

In 1986, the band released their first album, God's Own Medicine. The album was not well received by the US press. But that didn't stop the UK fans, and a loyal portion of American fans (I was one) from taking to the band's Goth-flavored songs. As a result, the band's first seven studio albums charted well in the UK up through the mid-'90s when, understandably, their style of music did not mesh well with the newly emerging styles of rock.

The Mission released two albums in the New Millennium (Aura, 2001; God Is A Bullet, 2007), neither of which charted, but both of which still satisfied the hard-core fans. Not long ago, The Mission reformed with three original members (Wayne Hussey, Craig Adams, Simon Hinkley), adding drummer Mike Kelly to complete the potent lineup.

TheMission The Brightest Light.jpgOn September 17, The Mission will release a new album of all new songs (September 20 in the UK and September 23 in France). The album is called The Brightest Light and will feature 12 freshly crafted tracks. A lead-off single, “Drag,” can be heard below in the embedded video. If you're a vinyl fan, The Brightest Light will be available in a gatefold two-LP edition with an added five bonus songs. For The Mission needy, there will also be a compelling two-CD Deluxe Edition that will contain eight bonus songs. The US issue is coming from The End Records, and the European issues from SPV Records.

Wayne Hussey had this to say about The Brightest Light: “This is my rock album. It's all fully flexed muscle and proud of itself. I wanted us to capture as closely as possible the sound that we make when we play live and I believe that for the very first time ever, we have succeeded.”

The Mission have a scheduled short set of tour dates to support the new release beginning in September in the US, and completing in Europe.

Track Listing:

  1. Black Cat Bone
  2. Everything But the Squeal
  3. Sometimes the Brightest Light Comes from the Darkest Place
  4. Drag
  5. Born Under a Good Sign
  6. The Girl in the Furskin Rug
  7. When the Trap Clicks Shut Behind Us
  8. Ain't No Prayer In the Bible Can Save Me Now
  9. Just Another Pawn in Your Game
  10. From the Oyster Comes the Pearl
  11. Swan Song
  12. Litany for the Faithful

Share this story About the author

Matt Rowe began his life with an AM radio, listening to anything that was considered music. Since, he has labored intently to build a collection of music, paring it down, rebuilding, and refining as he sees fit. His decided goal is to keep up with new music by panning for the nuggets among literal mountains…

View Profile
Visit Website

More from Matt
Related Tags

Connect With TMR

Recent Writers

View all writers »

June 2021
1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30